A review on Todd Stashwick’s “Devil Inside” indie comic

When I met Todd Stashwick at the free comic day at Blastoff Comicfest in North Hollywood, California last month to be honest I saw Actor. Being from Laredo, Texas that does not happen often, I think I played off okay “I think”. Last night I was going through my camera and iPod and what do I find My video of me interviewing Todd Stashwick. I had to finish what I began that day I had to read Devil Inside and give it my thoughts. To begin this review I had to ask myself. What would I say if the Devil was tiring to turn a leaf and be a good guy, what do I think? I do not know about you but it is hard for me to believe the Prince of Lie that he no longer lies. With this said, to explain the read of Devil Inside we must first look at Todd Stashwick. Mostly known for his work with FX series like Justified, Supernatural, The Riches, Heroes, and the Originals and currently on Syfy Channel’s 12 Monkeys. Todd seems to be able to bring many different characters to today’s TV. What many do not know of him is that he is also a writer and co-writing of a new Star Wars video game for Electronic Arts and of course the Comic which may be purchased directly from Todd’s website on paperback or for free view of his website. http://www.toddstashwick.com/default.asp

“Pain or Love or Danger makes you real Again…-Devil Inside: Chapter @: Episode 2.31”

The story of Devil Inside is based on the Devil imaged to look like Todd who escaping hell to the earth town of Paradise to search for stones. To do so he meets a handful of characters from Gaya to other lower religion entities which base of an Indian Witch Doctor who show him how to balance his good and his bad. After all Satan was once Lucifer “the gentle light” God’s right hand angle before his fall. He teams up with Goliath, a pink striped blonde haired heroin junkie punk girl, and professor from Arizona State. Together they take against the new ruler of hell, Delilah and her minions of hell Serpent-Head Man and Bird-Head Man.

This read is so great from the pop up messages to the fun facts and lyrics content I just want to keep clicking to see what is on my screen. I did have a small issue, I wanted to leave a comment and could not leave one because I could not see the caption code numbers. Now I do not know if this is because I use an Mac Book Pro or if it has to do with me not being computer shabby.

Beyond technical issues everything is so captivating about how this story line combines all religions, sciences and myths into a iron kettle and dumps the mixture of what if made into an Arizona city and Indian reservation. What mind blows this story the most is that Todd Stashwick and Dennis Calero have combined crime, horror, thriller, supper villains, serial killers, Unlikely hero characters with a hint of comedy with this comic. Raps it in with a creative sly ways of thinking that the devil has to come up with to work with what he has without regressing to instant gratification of being the bad him. Or the he who we all have gone to know he to be. A great read I cannot wait to see what more this story brings and one last question to Todd. “How long until the film version or better yet take it to SyFy or FX make it a series, or Nah?” This is a truly a must read for any indie and mainstream comic and non-comic reader a like. What more check it out at: http://www.toddstashwick.com/default.asp

“Man seeks to escape himself in myth, and does so by any means at his disposal…drugs, alcohol or lies…- Devil Inside: Chapter 3: Episode 3.14”

 

Leave a comment